Skip to content

User Groups#

User groups allow you to combine users into groups to easily control access to features and areas in your community. Users can be members of any number of user groups. When determining the permissions of a user, the individual rights of each group are reduced to single values, whereby the most advantageous value for the user is always adopted.

Manage User Groups#

The user group management can be found in the admin panel under Users → User Groups → User Groups. There you can manage the existing user groups and create your own user groups if required.

Default Groups#

There are 3 user groups that are included by default and cannot be deleted or copied:

Group Name Description
Everyone All users (including unregistered users) are members of this user group. You can therefore use this group to set the basic permissions for all users and, based on this, to assign additional rights via separate groups.
Guests Contains all users who are not logged in as well as logged in users who have not yet been activated.
Users Contains all logged in users whose user account has been activated.

Permissions#

The simplest and most common form of permissions are the Yes / No options, a set Yes has priority over No from other user groups. To override a Yes from other user groups, a permission can be set to Never.

Other permissions use text values, such as the maximum number of conversations a user can participate in or the number of attachments that can be uploaded. For these types, the most advantageous value is always used. Assuming a user is in group A (maximum 5 attachments) and group B (maximum 6 attachments), the user can effectively upload up to 6 attachments. In case of a waiting period, for example between two comments, a lower value is advantageous. If the user is in groups A (30 seconds) and B (10 seconds), then he/she can create a comment every 10 seconds.

A few permissions are subject to different regulations or have special values (for example unlimited). If a permissions has these properties, these peculiarities are pointed out separately in the description text.

Apart from the Never value, it is not possible to overwrite advantageous permissions for the user with worse permissions. For example, if a user is already allowed to upload 5 attachments and you add him to a group with a maximum of 2 attachments, the user can still upload 5 attachments.

Note

Additionally, you can enter the name of a permission in the admin panel search, and by clicking on a result you will be redirected to a detail page for the permission. On this page you can view and adjust the permissions for all groups at once.

Note

In addition to the permissions of the user group, different permissions can be set for specific areas such as individual forums. Please read the example for setting up an internal forum.

Automatic User Group Assignments#

Under Users → User Groups → Automatic Assignments, you can specify automatic assignment of users to user groups based on specific criteria. For example, you can configure that users are automatically assigned to a specified user group when a certain number of posts are made in the forum.